Reborn: It’s Finally Here!

September 16, 2009

avalon reborn cover

That’s right, ladies and gentlemen, Avalon’s first completely original new release in three years is now available on iTunes!  Why am I excited about this?  Well, first of all, this album is where the blog gets its name (see post “What’s in a Name?”), but besides that, Avalon is pretty much my favorite contemporary Christian group ever.  These two couples have incredible vocal expression and range, tight harmonies, and awesome hearts for the Lord.

avalon b&w

Their latest release is pretty different from what they’ve done in the past.  Its guitar-driven beat sounds a bit more rocky than any of their previous releases, but the signature Avalon vocal style is still there.  It sounds like Avalon, just updated, which showcases the versatility of these artists.  Over the years, they have been through some personnel changes, which adds to the somewhat different sound.  But their voices blend together so well, sometimes people don’t really hear a difference in who is singing when!

The only thing missing from this release that some longtime Avalon fans will miss is the usual pop ballad.  I have my theories as to why the group decided not to produce another of those.  That style was Avalon’s comfort zone in the beginning (way back in the late ’90s), but I have seen them grow away from that, and with each new release came more upbeat, pop rock “anthems.”  The track that probably comes closest to this classic Avalon trait is “Holy,” (a remake of Radiant Worship’s “You Are Holy”)  in which Greg’s (far right, above) and Jeremi’s (far left, above) soaring vocals carry the chorus as well as a message of powerful worship and reverence for the holiness of God and thanks for revealing Himself to us even in our sinful state.

Probably my favorite tracks so far (in the approx. 36 hours that I’ve been listening to had the album) are the title track, “Alive,” “Stay,” and “California.”  That last title might have raised some eyebrows, but yes, it is a Christian song.  It’s a song of submission to the Lord’s will, definitely reminding me of Isaiah 6:8:  “Then I heard the voice of the Lord saying, ‘Whom shall I send? And who will go for us?’  And I said, ‘Here am I. Send me!'”  The Lord has made us for great purposes, and when we submit to His will in obedience.  It also makes a great point with the line:  “Lift my feet from where I stand, down the street, to foreign land; anywhere You lead me, I will go.” Every Christian has a mission, whether that mission lies down the street or in lands far away, to obey Jesus’s Great Commission.

Maybe you didn’t expect a music review on here, but I’m kind of reaching for making different types of posts on various topics.  Of course, the main reason I chose this topic is my love for Avalon and their music.  Some of you have probably heard me talk about Avalon before, but whether you think my opinion is biased or not, I would encourage you to give this album a shot whether you like what they’ve done in the past or not.  If you want to sample some of their music, check out the link to their MySpace page at the bottom of the blog.  They’re pretty awesome if you ask me, and as the news release from the record label points out, “This is not your mother’s Avalon album!”

Leave a comment